26.05.201905.10.2019

Passion Play Erl

A tradition dating back over 400 years is brought to life in the picturesque village of Erl every 6 years. The life and death of Jesus Christ on stage. An impressive performance featuring 600 actors. Passion. Commitment. Dedication. Customs brought to life. The Erl Passion Play. The next performances will take place in summer 2019.More information

  • Next dateShow all dates
  • 26.05.2019 / 1 pm
  • Erl Passion Playhouse
  • Price from € 27.00

Online ticket purchase available

To the ticket website

Passion Play Erl

Culture - Nature - Craftsmanship - Erl

The origin of the Passion Play in Erl can be traced back to a vow from the time of the plague and has demonstrably shaped the community of Erl and its people since 1613. This makes Erl the oldest passion play location in the German-speaking area. They performed at various venues. The current passion play house, which cannot be heated, with its unique architecture by Robert Schuller and its incredible acoustics, was constructed specifically for the performance of the passion play and celebrated its 50th anniversary in 2009. These days, the play is performed every six years (alternating with Thiersee), with almost the entire village community being actively at work with much enthusiasm. Some 600 lay performers out of the around 1,450 residents of Erl community are actively involved in the passion play.

In 2013, the Passion Play celebrated its 400th anniversary

Since more than 400 years, the passion play has been performed in Erl at regular intervals, with more than 600 participants from Erl community re-enacting the life and death of Jesus Christ in impressive images. The Erl play is characterised by a distinct reconstruction of the way of the cross and a contemporary and modern text by Felix Mitterer, specially composed passion music, presented live by the choir and orchestra. In 2019, the restaging of the story of Jesus from 2013 will be performed again.

Also new and particularly attractive for English-speaking guests: Since 2013, English scene commentary is available through headphones allowing everyone to fully understand the performance.

Performances Passion Play Erl:

  • Sunday, 26/05/2019 (Premiere)
  • Saturday 01/06/2019 and Sunday 02/06/2019
  • Saturday 08/06/2019 and Sunday 09/06/2019
  • Saturday 15/06/2019 and Sunday 16/06/2019
  • Saturday 29/06/2019 and Sunday 30/06/2019
  • Saturday 06/07/2019 and Sunday 07/07/2019
  • Saturday 13/07/2019 and Sunday 14/07/2019
  • Saturday 20/07/2019 and Sunday 21/07/2019
  • Saturday 27/07/2019 and Sunday 28/07/2019
  • Saturday 03/08/2019
  • Saturday 10/08/2019
  • Saturday 24/08/2019 and Sunday 25/08/2019
  • Saturday 31/08/2019 and Sunday 01/09/2019
  • Saturday 07/09/2019 and Sunday 08/09/2019
  • Saturday 14/09/2019 and Sunday 15/09/2019
  • Saturday 21/09/2019 and Sunday 22/09/2019
  • Saturday 28/09/2019 and Sunday 29/09/2019
  • Saturday 05/10/2019

Facts about the performances:

  • Start at 13:00
  • Doors open: 12:30
  • Duration: approx. 3 hrs.

Ticket prices Passion Play Erl:

Category: Price:
Category 1 €39.00
Category 2 €33.00
Category 3 €27.00

Share with
your friends